Participate in UTICamp-2020Apply now
UTICamp-2019: July 22–28, 2019. Dnipropetrovsk region, Ukraine
ru uk

Tetiana Cherednychok (SBT Localization Team)

Translator and editor (SBT Localization Team)

For the last two years I have been honoured to be part of Public Organization “SBT Localization Team”, which is focused on videogame Universe Ukrainization. I play the roles of translator, editor and translation tester. The key principle of our work is official cooperation with developers.

The rapid development of the video game industry and the growing demand for Ukrainian products among Ukrainians mean that localization of video games into Ukrainian has every chance of taking over the translation market. 

Localization Volunteering. Video Games Localization

How is the promotion of game culture related to the production of Ukrainian gaming content and the Ukrainian media market? Why is publicity a critical component of volunteer organisations, and how has a network association of visionary volunteers become a productive force on the official Ukrainian computer game localisation scene?

This great story about a small translation association and the expertise gained through fighting for the community’s interests is awaits your attention!

***

It is common to consider videogames as something that is only for children and is not worth the adults’ attention. But despite all the stereotypes, videogame business has always attracted developers by its potential, profitability and popularity. After all, video games are popular among children, teenagers and adults as well. 

Videogame development is rather demanding and long-lasting process, which requires much inspiration and financing, but only due to hard work an exciting and entertaining product with an incredible gameplay and amazing graphics can be created. 

Yet even this is not enough: to get a game be adored all over the world, there is a need, that it be translated into lots of different languages.

Участвуйте в UTICamp-2019Зарегистрироваться
UTICamp-2019: 22—28 июля 2019 г., Днепропетровская область
uk en

Татьяна Чередничок (SBT Localization Team)

Переводчик-редактор (SBT Localization Team)

Уже два года имею честь быть частью гражданской организации «Локализационное сообщество «Шлякбитраф», которое занимается украинизацией игровых миров. Исполняю роль переводчика, редактора и тестировщика переводов.

Главный принцип нашей работы — официальное сотрудничество с разработчиками. Беря во внимание стремительное развитие игровой индустрии и рост спроса на украинский продукт среди украинцев, локализация видеоигр на украинском языке имеет все шансы завладеть рынком переводческих услуг.

Организация волонтерских переводов. Локализация видеоигр

Как популяризация игровой культуры связана с созданием украинского игрового контента и украинским медиарынком? Почему публичность деятельности является критической составляющей волонтерских организаций, и как случилось так, что сетевое объединение волонтеров-романтиков превратилось в продуктивную силу официальной украиноязычной сцены локализации компьютерных игр?

Большая история маленького переводческого сообщества и опыт, накопленный в борьбе за интересы общества, ждут вашего внимания!

***

Обычно видеоигры рассматривают как исключительно детскую забаву. Их считают несерьезными и воспринимают лишь как пустую трату времени, развлечение, которое не стоит внимания взрослых. Но несмотря на все стереотипы, игровой бизнес всегда привлекал разработчиков своей перспективностью, ведь компьютерными играми увлекаются не только дети и подростки, но и взрослые.

Создание видеоигр — это кропотливая и длительная работа, требующая максимальной отдачи и немалых материальных затрат, но только в результате усердного труда может появиться интересная и увлекательная игра с невероятным геймплеем и удивительной графикой.

Но и этого недостаточно, ведь чтобы игрой увлекались во всем мире, ее нужно локализовать, перевести на большое количество языков.