Participate in UTICamp-2020Apply now
UTICamp-2019: July 22–28, 2019. Dnipropetrovsk region, Ukraine
ru uk

Yevhen Tkach (SBT Localization Team)

Volunteer translator 

Yevhen is a volunteer translator with long-term experience of projects in network translation associations. He is a member of the technical team in Shliakbytraf Translation Association, where he specialises in localisation of texts rich in biological terminology, and has some expertise in localisation of desktop and computer RPG games.

Localization Volunteering. Video Games Localization

How is the promotion of game culture related to the production of Ukrainian gaming content and the Ukrainian media market? Why is publicity a critical component of volunteer organisations, and how has a network association of visionary volunteers become a productive force on the official Ukrainian computer game localisation scene?

This great story about a small translation association and the expertise gained through fighting for the community’s interests is awaits your attention!

***

It is common to consider videogames as something that is only for children and is not worth the adults’ attention. But despite all the stereotypes, videogame business has always attracted developers by its potential, profitability and popularity. After all, video games are popular among children, teenagers and adults as well. 

Videogame development is rather demanding and long-lasting process, which requires much inspiration and financing, but only due to hard work an exciting and entertaining product with an incredible gameplay and amazing graphics can be created. 

Yet even this is not enough: to get a game be adored all over the world, there is a need, that it be translated into lots of different languages.

Участвуйте в UTICamp-2019Зарегистрироваться
UTICamp-2019: 22—28 июля 2019 г., Днепропетровская область
uk en

Евгений Ткач (SBT Localization Team)

Переводчик-волонтер

Евгений — переводчик-волонтер, несколько лет работавший в разных сетевых переводческих объединениях. Он входит в техническую группу переводческого сообщества «Шлякбитраф», специализируется на локализации текстов, насыщенных биологической терминологией, имеет определенный уровень экспертности в вопросах локализации настольных и компьютерных RPG-игр.

Организация волонтерских переводов. Локализация видеоигр

Как популяризация игровой культуры связана с созданием украинского игрового контента и украинским медиарынком? Почему публичность деятельности является критической составляющей волонтерских организаций, и как случилось так, что сетевое объединение волонтеров-романтиков превратилось в продуктивную силу официальной украиноязычной сцены локализации компьютерных игр?

Большая история маленького переводческого сообщества и опыт, накопленный в борьбе за интересы общества, ждут вашего внимания!

***

Обычно видеоигры рассматривают как исключительно детскую забаву. Их считают несерьезными и воспринимают лишь как пустую трату времени, развлечение, которое не стоит внимания взрослых. Но несмотря на все стереотипы, игровой бизнес всегда привлекал разработчиков своей перспективностью, ведь компьютерными играми увлекаются не только дети и подростки, но и взрослые.

Создание видеоигр — это кропотливая и длительная работа, требующая максимальной отдачи и немалых материальных затрат, но только в результате усердного труда может появиться интересная и увлекательная игра с невероятным геймплеем и удивительной графикой.

Но и этого недостаточно, ведь чтобы игрой увлекались во всем мире, ее нужно локализовать, перевести на большое количество языков.